It’s ALLLLLLIVEEEEEEEE

Posted: February 26, 2013 in 90 Gallon Reef, Refugium
Tags: , ,

Refugium

Last night I decided to spend sometime (pre lights out on the display, prior to lights on in the fuge) with a flashlight sitting on the floor next to my fuge and peaking in. I was shocked at how much extra life already has overtaken it! The fuge began with the year old rockwork from my 28 gallon tank. I never seemed to have much microscopic life within this rock work at the time. But after a short time in the new fuge, it’s crawling with it.

Little pods were crawling all over the rocks, larger ones were found here and there (not enough to say a pod explosion… yet). In addition, the small little coralline spots on the rocks have vastly expanded. Now pink, dark purple and even a lot of light green. What had started as two microbrittle stars has transformed into at least 20, with little arms popping out of my rockwork everywhere.

My mangroves, which had sat in uncirculated, unheated water, for about a month after I took down my HOB fuge before setting up this one, have mostly come back. It looks like 2 of the 5 are thriving, with an additional one still living. I am going to give the other ones a few more weeks to see if they come back. The Chaeto is also looking great.

Additionally, my peppermint shrimp seems to be on a mission. In the 28 gallon, it always hid, and never touched aiptasia. Now, there is none to be found, and it constantly came out to investigate the light. It definitely enjoys not having any potential fish predators! I might need to pickup a couple more for within the display tank if I ever see any aiptasia pop up.

Lastly, I had great success in my previous tank with miniature feather dusters. They LOVE the new fuge. Only a smallish size colony started within the fuge, and now they are all over the rockwork.

There is one negative to the fuge right now. My rocks had a lot of settled gunk on them. This may be a good thing to help feed the inhabitants, but I am a little worried about how this could affect my water quality long term. I also really need to look at adding some addition to stir my sand, as it’s got some gunk settling on it as well.

It’s amazing how much having overflows seems to help a skimmer. I have it setup on my fuge now, and it’s CRAZY how much better it’s working (same skimmer that I had running on my 28 gallon) when it gets to skim the surface. My whole fish closet REEKS from the gunk this little guy pulls out. I am excited to see the results when I end up getting an appropriate sized skimmer.

My display has little life outside of my fish and coral. I can’t wait until the life starts to make its way into it. It’s in need of it’s cleanup crew (arriving Thursday), and then all I can do is wait!

Leave a Reply

