Latest Update: BioPellets

Posted: July 23, 2013 in 90 Gallon Reef

Did the chemiclean treatment, knocked out 99% of the cyno. Did my 20% water change, but it’s still making my skimmer overflow like crazy (fully opened up as well) so I’m running carbon. Got the HOB skimmer working too, since it’s a smaller area to overflow (so it doesn’t trigger ATO) and overflows back into the fuge. Hopefully after another water change in a couple days I should be good to go. Running low on salt, but more is in the mail.

Also, started up the biopellets! As predicted the random sized pump I had on my reactor wasn’t enough to get the stuff to tumble. So I swapped the maxijet 1200 from my mixing bucket and that seems to be doing the trick.

Lastly, I picked up an autofeeder. Planning on messing with it a while before I trust it anywhere near my tank. I have a vacation in August (1 week) where I want to have it running so I only have to have my tank sitter worry about topping off the ATO. Also, I have a honeymoon to plan for in 2014… but I might need to hire a tank sitter off my local reef club for that 2 weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

