May Update

Posted: May 15, 2014 in 90 Gallon Reef

Sooo,

I guess it’s time for an update. Wedding planning has hit REALLY hard, mixed in with some other summer starting related stuff, and I have sadly been neglecting my tank more than I should. Everything is doing great, but I’ve got a touch of algae starting.

My Skimmer was starting to make a terrible noise, so I think I have something in the impeller (and hopefully not impeller damage!) but I’ve been unable to have the time to address it, so I’ve been running skimmerless for a few days.

Today, I had a pretty big freak out, but it looks like I’m going to be ok. I was clearing some algae out of the fuge right before I went to work. I lightly brushed the overflow (was 3d printed for me), and the whole thing crumbled apart! So, I ended up being late for work, but I had to turn off the pumps and be sure it wouldn’t overflow. Thankfully, it didn’t! Hopefully that’s still the case after I add back the volume from the Skimmer… If it still works fine without the overflow box, then I may just go without.

Leave a Reply

